Did Jesus Rent or Own?

By Jim Allen, Editor, NuVote Reach

Image

Photo Credit: Offered just as food for thought: Beneath the foundations of this octagonal Byzantine martyrium church at Capernaum, archaeologists made one of the most exciting Biblical archaeology discoveries: a simple first-century A.D. home that may have been the house of Peter, the home of Jesus in Capernaum. Photo: Garo Nalbandian

When I heard a preacher on TV say that Jesus didn’t have a house, I said to myself, ‘uh-uhhh!!??’

Consider John 1:37-40 (Note: this is right after Jesus’ Baptism and being stalked by a future disciple.)

37 And the two disciples heard him speak, and they followed Jesus.

38 And Jesus turned, and beheld them following, and saith unto them, What seek ye? And they said unto him, Rabbi (which is to say, being interpreted, Teacher), where abideth thou?

39 He saith unto them, Come, and ye shall see. They came therefore and saw where he abode; and they abode with him that day: it was about the tenth hour (Note: about 4 pm by Jewish clock, 10am by Roman reckoning of time of the day.)

40 One of the two that heard John [speak], and followed him, was Andrew, Simon Peter’s (Note: the Rock of the church) brother.

My conclusion: Not only was there an apartment of some sort, Jesus apparently had rations enough to entertain, because it said “they abode with him that day.”

At that point, Jesus was a 30ish-year-old, full-grown, working man who, all at once, gave up his known life, to become an evangelist.

He met Peter because he had entertained his brother, Andrew, at his dwelling place, which he had obviously worked for (or, as a craftsman, built himself), because he had just that very day been baptized into his true mission.

That part where “…Jesus said to him, Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests; but the Son of man has not where to lay his head” was nine chapters into the Gospel of Luke (9:58) and considerably after he began to travel in ministry.

I think this distinction is very important in the context of so many self-centered,“spiritual” teachings these days about going after things, in the name of Jesus.

I figure, if you want something, save your money and go buy it— it seems to work for me, anyway.

The cautionary tale about that is, as I heard another preacher say, “You can spend your whole life climbing the ladder of success, and when you finally reach the top, you realize, you put your ladder on the wrong building.”

Luke 16:15: And he said to them, You are they which justify yourselves before men; but God knows your hearts: for that which is highly esteemed among men is abomination in the sight of God.

Finally, speaking of buildings, Revelation 3:20 says: Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hears my voice, and opens the door, I will come in to him, and will eat with him, and he with me.

The “good news” in the book of John, described above, plainly teaches us the same thing would happen if we were to knock on Jesus’ door (smile).

About Jim Allen, Founder/Editor, NuVote Reach

Currently serving as Chief Operating Officer of Alejo Media, emerging as one of Washington, D.C.’s most artistic and innovative video production and post-production media companies. Previously, as Director of News and Media Services at the American Institute of Physics, he led the creation of the InsideScience.org news platform, which includes Inside Science TV. He also previously served as Media Director, Energy NOW! and Clean Skies TV and as Special Reports Editor/Media Relations Director at The Hill newspaper. Jim has served in various executive, business development and/or programming roles for a number of media concerns including CBS Radio/Television, Radio One Inc. and the Los Angeles Times. Since 1995, he has been a contributor to the Reporters Notebook news roundtable program on NBC 4 TV, DC. He earned a music scholarship to Delaware State University, a Bachelor of Arts in English/Television Production at Virginia State University and, from 2003-2007, attended Concord University School of Law. His commendations include the Washington, DC Teachers' Union Media Relations Award and shared an American Academy of Nursing National Media Award. Jim also chairs a development task force for the faith-based, non-profit House of Help/City of Hope, founded and led by Bishop Dr. Shirley Holloway, which has provided substance abuse, mental health and continuing education programs and transitional housing for tens of thousands of homeless (and battered) women, families and men (including ex-offenders) at its shelter and treatment facilities in Washington, DC and Prince George’s and Charles Counties, MD.
This entry was posted in Politics, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Did Jesus Rent or Own?

  1. shellakers says:

    This is AWESOME. I never thought of Jesus having a home other than the one he shared with his parents. I’m Catholic though and we were never much schooled in the Bible. I didn’t know the passages you talked about where he entertained in his “abode”. It makes sense. I guess toward the end of his life he traveled and didn’t have a set home. Didn’t he do that so he could depend on the hospitality of others? That’s what we were taught.

    Cool post, I always learn so much from you! lol

  2. Greetings!!! First thank you for the follow on my blog as I am quite humbled. I fully enjoyed your this post and I am looking forward to reading more. Have a most excellent day!!!

  3. emmock says:

    My idea which I’ve dramatised in my book on St Paul (Paul: an Unauthorised Autobiography by Mike Mair, pub. Kindle) is that Jesus built the house in Capernaum. The Greek word used to describe his trade, “Tekton” means a local builder, carpenter, handyman, who could do everything from constructing buildings to mending farm implements. I have one of his sisters telling Paul, “He was a better builder than a Messiah.” (She isn’t a believer).

    Anyway, I’m delighted to read your blogs and will continue to do so. Greetinfgs from Scotland!

    • Very interesting about the builder, which was my thought as well– given the trade taught to him by Joseph, which would have been a cultural requirement, which would have included finding Jesus a wife, but I tend to leave that alone. Your post”China tolerates Chrstian mission in Tibet as bulwark against Buddhism…” opened my eyes with those words alone. Greetings from across the pond!

  4. Neat quote at the end. Good way of putting it.

  5. psanford64 says:

    Wonderful! I’ve never really thought about where Jesus lived before! I look forward to reading more of your writing. And thank you for following my blog.

  6. Dear Mr. Allen,
    Enjoyed this blog, simply refreshing! I love fresh bread that provokes thought! Did skim VISION I will go back and read it fully! We have a commonality, maiden name, Allen!

    • Well cousin, thanks for stopping by. I love your logo graphic. When you get time I have a fairly detailed account in my series arhcived in February here: “American History, Family History” etc tracing my ancestral roots, on both my mother and father (Allen) side, from Sierra Leone, to Sussex/Essex England, to Allens that were CHerokee and West Indian, to enslaved Parsons in Virginia Beach. See if you can find us in there, sometimes. All of my fathers brothers and sisters were Woodleys, we are the only Allens in the clan. But I know of Boston Allen Jr, 2x great grandfather(died in WWI) and his brother Claude Allen (2x great grandfather) and there were several other siblings named in a family bible who were scattered.

  7. Tom Atkins says:

    I love it when I find a fresh voice and a thoughtful mind. You are certainly both!

    Tom

  8. Citizen Tom says:

    Reblogged this on Citizen Tom and commented:
    We often forget to consider the years that preceded Jesus’ ministry. Here Jim Allen reminds that Jesus gave up his home and a secure living to sacrifice his life in a painful death for the sake of our souls.

  9. onenessguy says:

    We invest a lot in homes don’t we? And it’s great to have a nice home, or sometimes any home at all, but Jesus taught us not to be too attached to things of this world. Thanks for following my blog, also.

Leave a Reply

